marc turner header3

Interview with Kameron Hurley

Posted by on in Uncategorized
  • Font size: Larger Smaller
  • Hits: 2568
  • Comments
  • Subscribe to this entry
  • Print

This week, I’m asking five different questions to each of five different authors. Yesterday I spoke to Anthony Ryan, and next to look longingly at the exit door is Kameron Hurley, author of The Worldbreaker Saga and the recently released The Geek Feminist Revolution – a collection of essays on the rise of women in science fiction and fantasy, and the diversification of publishing.

Hi Kameron, thanks for stopping by.

KameronHurley1. I always like to start with an easy question. So, if we can all agree that being wrong louder doesn’t make someone right, how do you explain the internet?

People don’t care about being right as much as they care about feeling that they have been heard. The internet lets you scream into the void while simultaneously feeling like you are being listened to.

It can seem like the void at times. I’ve shared my own opinions with the internet on a handful of occasions, and I was amazed and horrified to see that not much changed as a result.

2. How did you find the process of writing Geek Feminist as compared to writing your novels? Is it a book you wanted to write, or felt you needed to write, or both?

The Geek Feminist Revolution is all my agent’s fault. I had been collecting the essays I worked on during blog tours for a couple of years, and I was getting ready to launch my new one as a self-pub title when she came to me and proposed the idea of shopping an essay collection. The timing was right on it as far as this being the right cultural moment for a book like this to drop. I’ve heard from so many people over the years that they would love to have a book of my essays to give to people, and now was the time to do it.

What that meant was that most of the actual writing was done by the time we sold it. I wrote nine new essays specifically for the collection, and got those all done in June and July last year. It’s also a much shorter book than a novel, about half the size of the last epic fantasy I turned in, which made proofing a LOT easier. I should write shorter books!

I think you may be on to something there. My own manuscripts have been known to break floorboards when I drop them.

3. You have written eight books now, I believe. If you were to pick up one to read, which would it be? Overall, is that book also your favourite of your books? (For me, they would be different.)

The first one, God’s War, or maybe the second, Infidel. The further away I am from having worked on a book, the more I can enjoy it. You spend so much time re-reading your work looking for errors, or only looking at the trouble spots so you can fix them, that you get burned out on them. You’re convinced they’re awful, by the end. It takes a good year or two for me to be able to return to a book and read it to enjoy it instead of just tear it apart.

KameronHurleyCover4. The first book of your next fiction series, Stars are Legion, is described as being in the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune. Which particular elements of those books would you say feature in your novel?

Exceptional worldbuilding and political drama, most likely. The Stars Are Legion is a space opera about two families battling it out for dominance on the outer rim of a legion of worldships. It centers on Zan, a lost fighter who wakes with no memory among a group of people who say they are her family. She finds herself forced to choose sides in a genocidal campaign that could either save or destroy the Legion. Fun stuff.

5. Recently, a reviewer of one of my books said that it held his attention “better than my first kiss”. What’s the most striking or amusing comment anyone has made about one of your books?

As a general rule, I try not to comment on my reviews. I will say that one of my favorite reviews of God’s War, my first novel, was from Adam Roberts.

Thanks for the interview!

To find out more, check out Kameron’s website here.

 

 

0
blog comments powered by Disqus

Copyright Marc Turner | All Rights Reserved

icon-youtube  icon-twitter